A Daviess County Middle School language arts teacher is adding another accolade in teacher achievement.

Laura Murphy has been selected as one of 24 Kentucky educators to receive the 2021 Valvoline Teacher Achievement Award. The field of 24 will be narrowed down in October to a finalist for Kentucky Elementary, Middle, and High School Teacher of the Year.

The Kentucky Teacher of the Year will represent the state in the national competition.

Nominees are chosen based on a review of their teaching philosophies, their teaching experiences, their community involvement, and letters fo recommendation from administrators, colleagues, students, and parents.

There was a record number of nominations this year, more than 2,800, followed by 208 applications, indicating the high level of competition for this award.

Murphy, who has taught at DCMS since 2009, was named the Daviess County Public Schools "Kids First" Middle School Teacher of the Year in August of last year. She is also a recipient of the Campbellsville University Excellence in Teaching Award.

WBKR-FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Keep Yourself and Other Safe with One of These Fun and Sassy Masks

More From WBKR-FM