Daviess County Public Schools have been selected as a $25,000 winner in the Monsanto Fund’s America’s Farmers Grow Rural EducationSM.

That is a program that gives farmers the opportunity to nominate their public school district to apply for a grant, that is based on merit, to enhance math and science education. After a three-tier grant review process, Daviess County Public Schools was selected as one of 4 winners in Kentucky. In Kentucky, a total of $55,000 is being invested in rural education.

Th presentation will be Friday night at Apollo High School between the varsity girls and boys basketball games.

The Monsanto Fund will invest $2.3 million in rural education across 39 states through this program. This year, more than 61,000 farmers nominated their rural school districts to apply for this grant opportunity.

The farmers -- you may know them -- that nominated our Daviess County winners are:

Alex Bryant Don Bittel Gerald Boswell Phillip Castlen
Donald Catron Jane Catron Joseph Cecil Rose Cecil
Tony Ebelhar Daniel Elbehar Joseph Elliot Mary Sue Elliot
Joe Fischer Kenneth Fischer Sylvester Fischer William Foster
Winnie Foster Jimmy Gilles Joe Goetz Darrell Hagan
Jesse Horn Tim Horn Roger Kamuf Christopher Karn
Timothy Karn Kenny Knott John Kuegel Scott Kuegel
William Kuegel Jacob Marksberry Royce McCormick Dennis McKay
Joseph McPherson Rob Mooman Gary Murphy Ernest Pantle
James Pantle Jane Pantle Billy Reid James Settles
Charles Smith Jeanette Smith David Sparks Wallace Taylor
Wally Taylor Tony Williams David Wink Donald Wink
Kye Wink Marvin Wink

America’s Farmers Grow Rural Education℠ is part of a four-part initiative, which highlights the important contributions farmers make every day to our society. It includes: Grow Communities, which gives farmers the opportunity to win $2,500 for their favorite local nonprofit; Mobile Experience, which is a traveling exhibit that emphasizes the role farmers play in feeding the world; and Farm Mom of the Year, which is an essay-based and online voting contest that celebrates women in agriculture by giving them the opportunity to win up to $10,000 and the title of “National Farm Mom of the Year”. For more information about these programs and to view the official rules, visit.